laying it all down.

“And we know that in all things, God works for the good of those who love Him, who have been called according to his purpose.” Romans 8:28

You know what I have trouble with? You know where my heart just jumps and refuses and holds on too long?

Control… trust.

Yeah I know, in your head you were listing all the issues I got.

(I actually laughed when I typed that so maybe you find some of my jokes funny… I hope so… okay, I also get distracted easily so let’s get back to the point.)

Trust. Trust is hard man and trusting an invisible God is even harder.

So obviously I am speaking for everybody right now… you know you got trust issues and I know I got trust issues. We have been hurt by others and we’ve hurt ourselves and that has caused some kind of fracture in our heart that now tries to yield itself to fully trusting in something or someone besides our self.

So what do we do? We control, we try to control every aspect of our lives, we stay in the driver’s seat, and oh no we never even dare let anyone else take the wheel for us. But this control is exhausting… amen??? I mean seriously, it’s a lot of work and it produces a lot of anxiety and fear that is completely irrational because we weren’t made to take all that on or in other words… we weren’t created to be God.

We suck at being God, absolutely, 100 percent fail at being God. That is why God is God and we are not.

There is hope, I promise.

Surrender. There is freedom in surrender. Surrender to a perfect Jesus that never fails, never sucks at being God and never gives up on us.   

This is where the gospel comes in and saves us over and over and over again.

You see the cross has never lost it’s power.

“While we were still sinners, Christ died for us.” Romans 5:8

It began in the beginning, when the perfect gladness of God being with Jesus and the Holy Spirit flowed out into the creation of the world, into the creation of human beings who were made to be in relationship with their creator. We once were in perfect communion with God, where we allowed God to be God and we were just his.

But we broke it, when we wanted our way and gave into sin. When we wanted to know everything God knew, when we wanted power, control as God had control. That relationship was now broken.

But God is so good, so good. So good that out of his crazy love for us, he sent Jesus to be the one who would redeem, forgive, heal, mend our brokenness… be the offer, the sacrifice for our sin. Through death on a cross, he was just that, totally that- the sacrifice that would go on forever and never run dry. Jesus is the offer of forgiveness and grace.

We just have to accept that free gift of Jesus and we have to keep accepting it everyday because I once heard that the gospel is not just an entryway but the doorway for everyday. Everyday we need Jesus… again and again and again. And everyday Jesus meets us… again and again and again.

Come on, doesn’t that say something about the cross, about it’s power, about our need, about who we are, how incredibly selfless our Jesus’ love is??!!

We are powerless and Christ is power. Jesus is our hope. Our hope for surrender and giving up control.

When I trust in myself, I fail inevitably and it’s exhausting. I will never be good enough for me, I will never be good enough for anyone, for the world. I will never be enough.

AND THE FREEDOM OF THE CROSS IS THAT’S NOT ABOUT US. 

Because the cross says Jesus WAS, IS, and ALWAYS will be enough. It was always about Jesus, always, always, always. This has been going through my mind quite often lately… that it always was and will always be about him.

And this frees me to let go, to surrender because it’s no longer about me and I don’t need it to be because it’s about my Jesus. He is my trust, my hope, he is forever faithful.

Let yourself be broken before the Lord. Lay it all out, lay it all down… he doesn’t ask for perfection, he doesn’t ask you to be enough or meet his standards (that is religion, not relationship)!

Jesus wants a relationship with you….. just as you and I may have a relationship or you have a relationship with your friend… it’s not about the good works you do for that person or at least it shouldn’t be. But it’s about being with one another, being real and honest with each other, letting one another in, not doing life all on your own. Jesus wants you, he doesn’t want your good works.

Works or let’s say, faith in action flows out of loving the Lord and he will produce that in you.

What are you holding so tightly onto? What are you trying to control? What are you hiding from him, not letting him into? Be real with him, be blatantly honest… he can handle it, trust me. 

Watch yourself be honest and watch him come.

“You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart.” Jeremiah 29:13

If you have never received Christ, you can right now. You could say a simple prayer such as, “Lord, I want to give up control, give up my life for you. I want you Jesus and need you as my Lord. Forgive me. Use me for your purpose, I want to live for you. Amen.”

I pray we continually give up and give up and give up our tight control and let go and be free in Jesus, in his love… trusting that he is our good Father who is always working for our good… in the struggle and in the joys.

He is good at being God. 

“Taste and see that the Lord is good.” Psalm 34:8 … He is freedom

take a listen… Lay it All Down – United Pursuit

Leave a Reply

