I dare you to choose truth.

Last week as I was sitting out on my porch, I started to think ahead into the future, wondering what would come of it and I become hopeless and lonely. As my mind started to try to think of ways to deflect what I was feeling and make it feel better, I had remembered a sermon I watched the night before. In it, the woman talked about how we must declare truth over ourselves.

As I remembered that, something clicked, okay it was the Holy Spirit. In that moment, I decided to choose hope. I said it aloud too. “I am choosing hope.”

And then this verse came to mind, “For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord, plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you a hope and a future.” Jeremiah 29:11

If that is in the Word of Truth, it is truth and if Jesus is telling me that, then I should tell myself it too. See we have a decision, we get to choose to speak truth over ourselves and believe it or just sit there. The enemy is always whispering lies, getting us to believe them but we must stand on the truth, believing what the Word says is always true.

So I dare you to choose truth each day, to speak truth over youself, to proclaim it when you wake up each morning and throughout the day.

Some of my truths have been…

I choose to praise you Lord even when it hurts.

I choose to pray, for the prayer of a righteous person is powerful and effective. [James 5:16]

I choose to be beautiful, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made. [Psalm 139:14]

I choose power through the Holy Spirit. [Acts 1:8]

I choose to take my life and everything in it to the cross.

You get to choose, you do have free will… so what will you choose?

A.W. Tozer - Doing the will of God.:

Here is the sermon, you should watch it: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xYBRbwRBuV8

One thought on “I dare you to choose truth.

Leave a Reply

