grace as ground.

One of the reasons God brought here this summer was to deepen my faith in Him. I know that sounds simple, oh but it ain’t that simple sister. To be deepened in our faith, we first have to be stretched and challenged to need faith. We first have to need God like never before.

Yes, I prayed that God would make me need Him more, I prayed that God would show me the deep dark sin within my heart and show me His perfect holiness (the gospel). Let me tell you, God was faithful to that prayer.

He ripped me apart of my strength, my wisdom, where I was putting my hope other than Him and He took me to a point where I had nothing left. Those were some of the most painful, yet beautiful moments.

You know why? Because His grace is all we need.

“But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.” 2 Corinthians 12:9

Ya know I think we beautify this verse. We say it when times are good, or okay, when we are comfortable- but what about when His grace is actually all we have left to lean on? What about when your strength totally runs out, when you’re about to lose your house and you only have five bucks in your bank account? What about when your mom is diagnosed with cancer or your brother just overdosed? What about those times?

Is His grace still all you need? Is His grace still sufficient then?

Let’s be real for a second… I want to say yes to that, but I imagine being in that situation leaning on His power and grace would not be my first reaction.

And the Lord knows that. And I believe that’s why He strips away those things that are closest to your heart, your strength, your intellect, your wisdom, your power, your position, your comfortability. He strips it all away until HE IS ALL YOU HAVE LEFT.

Why?

Because our hope can’t be in those fallible things of the world. Our hope and faith must be in Him alone.

But the Lord knows that we as humans can say our hope is in Him alone, oh we can talk it up all we want. But He knows us, He knows that it isn’t until we are put into real situations that the genuinity of our faith is shown. [James 1:2-18, Romans 8:18-30]

So He wants to build our faith. Our faith of not knowing all the answers but believing and trusting that the LORD is good, is faithful, is sovereign, is loving, is full of grace; believing that He is who He says He is no matter what circumstance we are in.

This summer the Lord has taught me that faith is NOT a feeling. True faith is not knowing the answer to everything, not basing Him off of a feeling but off of the Word of Truth, the Bible. True faith is not walking by sight but believing God is God and no one else is, that He is good even when things are falling apart. That is faith.

And He has rooted my faith more deeply in Him to prepare me for what lies ahead; the suffering I will face, the pain He has called me to address within my heart, dealing with and overcoming the brokenness of my family and whatever else is to come.

I know God needed me to be deeply rooted in faith to confront the mess and pain in my heart because without a steady, firm faith I would crumble under the weight of it all. I would give in to giving up instead of continuing to fight this fight of faith.

“Fight the good fight of the faith. Take hold of the eternal life to which you were called when you made your good confession in the presence of many witnesses.” 1 Timothy 6:12

Lord when the suffering hits, when those times come may they be a time where you go in and root our faith more deeply in the gospel, in who you are Jesus Christ. May we be quick to confess our unbelief, our hope in ourselves, and repent and run to you Jesus Christ, thanking you for forgiveness. Give us faith Jesus and continue to pull out from under us what we are standing on instead of you. Thank you that you are a God who faithfulness is part of your character. May your will be done. Amen.

What are you holding onto so tightly? What won’t you give to God? 

My grace is all you need - 2 Corinthians 12:9:

 

Leave a Reply

