true love.

“But God demonstrates His own love for us in this: while we were still sinners, Christ died for us.” Romans 5:8

Okay, it is actually crazy how many times God has shown me this verse in the past two days.

I have a hard time with love. I have a hard time believing I am loved; believing that I am loved no matter what I do, what I feel, or what I think. I also have been wrestling with loneliness and when loneliness comes knocking at your door, it also tells you that love is nowhere to be found.

I believe the two go hand in hand; love and loneliness. When you feel loved, you don’t feel lonely- but when you don’t feel loved, that is when you feel lonely.

I also believe that loneliness is how God draws us closer to Him.

But back to Romans 5:8; God has used this verse to show me the weight of His love for me and He can use this verse to show you the weight of His love for you.

Please read it a couple times.

Now think of the way that human beings love.

Our love is conditional. It is easier for us to love people when they are easy to love (can I get an amen). And more seriously, maybe you were born into a family whose love was completely conditional or you are or have been in a relationship who your partner’s love was/is conditional. Their love for you is based off of what you do, how you have treated them, whether or not you fulfilled what they asked of you…

Their love is based off you… and that is a lot of weight to carry.

Now read this verse again…

“But God demonstrates His own love for us in this: while we were still sinners, Christ died for us.” Romans 5:8

What sticks out to you the most?

For me, it is… While we were still sinners.

When we were in the deepest, darkest, valleys of our lives… Christ died for us.

While we were entangled in our own sin, only getting deeper and deeper into it… Christ died for us.

Fill it in with your blank.

While I struggled with drugs and finding my worth in guys; when I loved my sin, when I worshipped my sin… Jesus died for me.

Jesus didn’t die for us when we cleaned up all our dirt. He didn’t die for us when we loved Him. He didn’t die for us when we believed a word He said. He didn’t die for us when we stopped sinning.

He died for us… while we were still sinners.

That is our God for ya. That is how our God loves us. Ya know what’s even crazier… is that His love was never less then than His love for you now as a believer.

And this is just God telling us that His love for us will never be based on us. His love is based on who He is.

… and who He is, is someone who sent His one and only son to take the form of a human being (Romans 8:3), making himself nothing (Phil. 2:7-9), taking on the weight of the sin of the world by dying on a cross, the most painful death possible… for you and me.

That is true love.

His Love Never Changes

Jesus, thank you for simple, profound, breathtaking fact that your love for us never changes and that is because your love for us is based on who you are… never will it be based on us or what we do. Help us live this love out, knowing that we are loved because of who you are. Amen.

Leave a Reply

