where are our eyes?

You know what is crazy?

As children of God, we have been given the freedom of not being in charge of our mess. We are not in control of our mess, we don’t have to touch it, we don’t have to try to clean it.

It is now Christ’s mess. 

This is extremely hard to believe, at least for me.

Cause wait, God is saying I don’t have to do anything about my mess… that I might had had a responsibility of causing? That doesn’t make sense to me, but that is grace and that is how crazy God’s love is for us. 

God wants our mess, He wants absolutely all of it. And let me tell you a secret, He can handle it way better than we ever could have.

Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.” Matthew 11:28-30

When Jesus said this, He was saying that He wants to take our burdens and replace them with His presence and peace. When He said this, He also didn’t just mean giving up a quarter of our burdens or even half… He meant all of them, every single ounce.

You know why He wants them?

Of course, it is because He loves you violently and because He is good. But it is also because our burdens, our mess takes our eyes off of Jesus. We keep staring at our mess and how big it seems to us, how impossible it looks to be able to overcome, or heal from, or conquer. Our eyes are too little for our mess and when we consumed with our mess, we forget about our Savior- the one who wants to take our mess with His own bare hands and untangle the knots and kinks for us.

 Where are you looking?

Into the eyes of Jesus or straight into your mess?

Ask God to help you see Him, ask Him to help you push aside your mess and make a clear path straight to Him.

 When we focus our eyes on Jesus, our mess doesn’t just go away but it becomes something we know we don’t have to overcome on our own. We become consumed with His presence, instead of the weight of our mess. 
miracles within mess … here is a short article that inspired me
2 thoughts on “where are our eyes?

Leave a Reply

