a light in the dark.

When you can’t see anything ahead of you, when you are walking in the midst of a storm raging all around you and everything is overwhelming or dark… Jesus calls us to focus our eyes on Him.

"To trust God in the light is nothing, but trust him in the dark—that is faith." (C.H. Spurgeon):

In seasons of what may feel like darkness, when we can’t see what is ahead- this a time to rely on God even more, to lean in more and more to His promises.

“Your word is a lamp for my feet, a light on my path.” Psalm 119:105

Awhile ago, my aunt mentioned this verse to me. She said in the darkness the lamp only lights the next little stepping block right in front of you, it doesn’t light the whole rest of the path.

This is what God does for us, He lights the next step.

When we try to look for what is ahead or figure out what may happen later, we begin to lose sight of the light He is providing that is right in front of our feet right at this very moment- we begin to run into the darkness.

Trusting in God is trusting in that little light he lays in front of your feet right now.

Let God guide you gently through each little moment, He is faithful and will light the way but we have to learn not to run ahead.

It is hard, oh boy, is it hard but God is working in you and leading you to something you could never dream up on your own. He is producing in you something for His glory.

“When you pass through the waters, I will be with you; and when you pass through the rivers, they will not sweep over you. When you walk through the fire, you will not be burned; the flames will not set you ablaze.” Isaiah 43:2

Day 83 Christian Quotes | Though I sit in darkness, the Lord will be my light. - Micah 7:8 |:

 

 

One thought on “a light in the dark.

  1. This is everything I experienced while at the NAVS orientation to teach us about fundraising for Romania. I was so overwhelmed because I could not see where the money was going to come in. I was trying to seek human comfort and God lead me to realize that I can’t. He is the one who is going to comfort and provide for me.
    Thank you Alexis.
    Also can’t wait for you to tell me all about the Dominican Republic!

    Like

Leave a Reply

